Creating your Perfect Circle

I don’t have the friend circle that I need to grow, it’s important to have it, otherwise, we’ll never be our best.

Jacob K Thomas
4 min readNov 29, 2021
Photo by the Author

I love to cook. Anyone that knows me is very aware of this. I research recipes, I watch cooking shows, when I go on vacation, I walk through local grocery stores and other food markets. Cooking is my thing.

I’ve been in the PNW (Pacific Northwest) for over two years and I’ve realized something. The new circle of friends/acquaintances I’ve found myself in aren’t used to this. When I lived in Germany, people were used to me cooking. If a friend was throwing something, they would ask me to bring something, then others would bring stuff. In the end, you would be a good assortment of things. People knew how to cook, and a lot of people cooked well.

This was a fun experience. Nowadays, things are so different. I don’t know if it’s the hustle and bustle of American life or just the people that I spend time with, that joy of cooking and food isn’t around anymore. Frankly, it has really diminished my cooking and various love of wanting to do certain things.

The holiday just came and has gone. I put out a great number of things to eat. I wasn’t expecting a great deal of praise, just people to enjoy and want to try out new things or just…

--

--

Jacob K Thomas

Writer. Cook. Traveler. Photographer. Featured on the Food Network and newspapers around America. https://jacobkthomas.com/