It’s Time to Make a Pivot for Your Mental Health

If you don’t make time for yourself, no one else will.

Jacob K Thomas
5 min readMay 24, 2022
Time limit vector created by macrovector_official from freepik

It’s been quite a month or so for me. The big return to the office has happened. I go in two days a week now. While I get to work at home three days one week, then two days another because I’m off every other Friday.

I decided when this began that I was going to make a bold move, get to work way earlier than I have in a long time, well, since when I worked in hospitality over ten years ago. My decision to do this was to simply get ahead. It was to get ahead of the chitchat, the time-sucking that was going to happen. The “watercooler” talk about my weekend and the office gossip.

The plan to do this was a move to work around distractions. Has it been helpful, it’s been quite interesting, to say the least? I’ve thought about the fact that I don’t know how long I’ll be able to keep a pace of getting up after 4 am going, just so I can get to work at 6 am, just so I don’t have to talk to so many people.

With this change, another reality hit me and made me rethink a lot. I started to think about how I work and how hard I work. This made me think about how we need to pivot or make changes in our lives. Mainly in our work lives. What’s your relationship with work?

--

--

Jacob K Thomas

Writer. Cook. Traveler. Photographer. Featured on the Food Network and newspapers around America. https://jacobkthomas.com/