The Art of Culinary Discovery: 9 Reasons to Embark on a Cooking Journey

Expanding your culinary mind will give you countless benefits you never thought would be possible.

Jacob K Thomas
8 min readFeb 6, 2024
Photo by Devon Rockola from Pexels

Not a Medium member? You can read this story for free here ↗.

Our food and our cooking are things that are important to us for countless reasons. When we were growing up, we were fed so we could get nutrition. We needed food so we could become bigger and stronger.

As we were eating whatever food at some point we watched someone cooking. It could’ve been your mom fixing something simple. Your sibling putting something into the microwave.

You might have been out somewhere and remember seeing that person packing up something at the grocery. Maybe you were at a friend's house and saw their parent making something you had never seen at your house.

As time went along, we might have decided that it was time to try and cook something new for ourselves. I know when I first was living on my own, I started to try and cook a lot of different things. I would cook with my mom whenever we would get a chance to spend time with each other. When I was growing up with my grandparents, being able to cook in the house was always a challenge. That wasn’t the environment to try out…

--

--

Jacob K Thomas

Writer. Cook. Traveler. Photographer. Featured on the Food Network and newspapers around America. https://jacobkthomas.com/